STYGIA was unveiled in 2007 as a recording project featuring musicians Mike Vescera (Yngwie Malmsteen, Loudness, Obsession), Todd Seitz (STYGIA), Chris McCarvill (Dokken, Obsession, House of Lords), Vitalij Kuprij (Ring of Fire, Revenge), Mike Mangini (Dream Theater, Steve Vai, Annihilator, James Labrie) and Joe Stump (Reign of Terror). Stygia's music is intended to capture the epic brutality of several dark fantasy themes in the style of progressive power metal.